Home Sport Cricket

Cricket: Mold mark signing of first overseas player with honour

MOLD Cricket Club have honoured their first ever overseas player.

A special award was presented to Australian professional Hugh Reckord at the club’s AGM, in honour of him becoming the first overseas player engaged by Mold and in recognition of his services to the club both on and off the field.

The club also appointed Hugh Ellis as the new president of the club.

Ellis, a long serving club member both as a player, official and more recently chairman, also played many times for Flintshire.

Club chairman Roger Griffiths said: “We are delighted that Hugh accepted our offer to stand as president and that the members unanimously endorsed his election.”

Mold’s achievements in 2012 included the seniors winning the Flintshire Cup for the third consecutive season and the Les Tunnah Twenty20 Cup. The junior teams at under 9s, 11s, 13s, and 15s all made encouraging progress.

Club secretary, David Wiseman also confirmed that a new state-of-the-art outdoor practice net costing £25,000 and partly funded by an ECB grant was now complete and would be officially opened at the start of next season.

The Rotary Club Cup for Junior Player of the Year went to George Deniz, Second XI Player of the Year was Keith Embleton, the David Giddins Trophy for First XI Player of the Year was presented to John Crane while the Trevor Bellis Memorial Shield for Clubman of the Year belonged to Mike Cresswell.

The final award of the evening was the Carl Saum Memorial Cup for Outstanding Service, which was given to John Millington.