Home Sport Local Football

Futsal: Gap Connah’s Quay Academy turns to indoor game to beat cold weather

GAP Connah’s Quay have found a way to beat the elements as the cold weather lays waste to the football calendar.

The club’s Academy has been organising and playing as much futsal as possible. Futsal is a Latin American style of five-a-side that uses a smaller, less bouncy ball and relies on close control and quick, well weighted passing.

Playing futsal at Deeside Leisure Centre has allowed Nomads’ academy players to retain their competitive edge during the enforced winter break.

The club arranged an under 12s trophy tournament featuring seven Welsh Premier League Academy sides and an invited team from Blacon Youth Club in Chester.

According to Jay Catton, who is also head of futsal development in Flintshire, all the teams impressed with their ability in this shorter form of football.

“Some of the futsal on display was superb and of a real high standard,” he said.”It was a real joy to watch for everyone in attendance.”

Nomads were forced into a fifth-place play-off semi-final against Airbus UK Broughton which ended 3-3 before Nomads won 1-0 on penalties.

Nomads went on to lose the fifth-place play-off final to Prestatyn 2-1 while Airbus beat Llandudno Town 4-3 to claim seventh.

Blacon made the final where they played Bangor City. The game ended 1-1 before Bangor won 3-2 on penalties.

Under 9 sides Buckley Town and Holywell Town have also been keeping their hand in by trying futsal at Deeside Leisure Centre.

The sides took part in two friendly games, with Holywell winning the first game 5-2 and the second 6-4.

Meanwhile Nomads U16s and U18s have also tested each others futsal skills.

Initially the U18s played the U16s and raced into a 4-1 lead within five minutes. But the U16s fought back as the game ended 5-5.

They were then mixed into four teams for a mini-tournament.

Team A was Ryan Jones, Daniel Brunning, Aled Reece, Matthew Davies, Ryan Oates, Callum Glover and Andrew Hannaby, Team B consisted of Shaun Tinsley, Sion Jones, Kieran Turner Owen, George Baxter, Michael Foulkes, Hayden Hughes and Dale Payton, Team C was Jamie Wynne, Chris Jones, Jack Carden, Sam Jones, Scott Williams, Oliver Tinsley and Sean Williams while Team D put together Matthew Pulin, Steve Belli, Jordan Beck, James Freel, Josh Williams, Jack Cheetham and Stephan Rossier.

Team B had held on to top spot to win bragging rights at the academy.