Home Sport Junior Football

Football: New Flintshire Primary Schools’ FA squad unveiled

THE next generation of Flintshire footballers hoping to follow in the footsteps of Gary Speed, Michael Owen and Ryan Shawcross have been unveiled.

Twenty-three pupils from across the county have been successful in winning places in the Flintshire Primary Schools’ FA squad for the 2011-12 season.

Like Wales boss Speed, England goalscoring legend Owen and Stoke City captain Shawcross before them, the new intake will pull on their county colours in what manager Andrew Jones hopes will be a year to remember.

Jones said: “Last season we had nine players from Year 5 who have all been successful in being selected again. This has enabled us to have an excellent foundation for this year’s squad.

“Trial coaching and game sessions have been at a high standard and we have had to make a few difficult decisions on this season’s selection.

“Congratulations to all of the players on their success in being selected for the squad. All of the coaches are looking forward to working with such a talented group of players.”

The squad, which will be based at Ysgol Bryn Coch in Mold, is: Matthew Hill, Levon Hughes, William Mourant, Alex Swindell (Golftyn Primary School), Kai Hardcastle, Scott Reed, Sam Reynolds (Wepre Primary School), George Lewis, George Peers, Adam Woosey (Mountain Lane Primary School), Alex Hannah, Sam McCormick (Ewloe Green Primary School), Jack Atkinson (Ysgol Derwenfa), Owen Beck (St Mary’s Catholic Primary School), Dawson Butcher (St John’s The Baptist Primary School), Sam Fowles (Broughton Junior School), Iwan Jones (Rector Drew Primary School), Coel Lambert (Custom House Lane Primary School), Dylan Levitt (Gwynedd Primary School), Max Moore (Ysgol Estyn), Charlie Roberts (Cornist Park Primary School), Matthew Sargent (Northop Hall Primary School), Jack Thorn (Venerable Edward Morgan Primary School).