Home Sport Other Sports

Golf: Mold Golf Club celebrates Junior Section’s high achievers

MOLD Golf Club have been showing off their class of 2010 – and what a class it is.

The club proudly gathered their junior section and all the silverware they claimed during the past season together to demonstrate the success the 101-year-old club has enjoyed this year.

Luke Jackson was called upon by Wales to represent his country in the under 18s Home Internationals and European Championships while clubmates Adam Wilson and Chris Edwards were selected for the U16s.

Wilson and Adam Tuft were also selected for the Welsh Schools team and joined Jackson, Tyler Martin, Chris Edwards and Alex Pugh in the North Wales Regional squad.

North Wales U15s chose Luke Thomas, Shaun Myddelton, David Ramsay and Simon Jones while Flintshire plumped for Tuft, Wilson, Edwards, Martin and Pugh, who carried the county to their third consecutive North Wales Counties Championship.

Wilson, Edwards and Jones also won the Welsh Counties U16s Championship.

It wasn’t just regional honours that the club won in 2010.

The club is now home to the Flintshire County U15 champion in David Ramsay while Adam Tuft holds both the North Wales Youth title and the North Wales Men’s title.

Mold added a fifth successive Flintshire County Junior Team Championship title to their roll of honour and they were second in the Flintshire Junior League and the Cheshire and Border Leagues.

Senior players at the club have also found themselves battling against the new generation as the Men’s April Medal Division One title went to Shaun Myddelton with 68.

Calum Davies won the GUW Qualifier with a round of 67 and the Bill Dodd Trophy was claimed by David Ramsay and Luke Wilson.

Adam Wilson got his hands on the Sheila Williams Cup and the JT Evans Scratch Cup and he carded the best round in a men’s competition with 65.

Best round in a junior competition belonged to Chris Edwards with a junior course record of 64 in the Junior President’s Cup.

Luke Wilson bagged a hole-in-one on the third in the Men’s June Medal while the lowest handicap award went to Luke Jackson with +2.