Home Sport Junior Football

Junior football: Connah’s Quay Tigers get new sponsor for Flintshire Junior League season

CONNAH’S Quay Tigers under 8s have unveiled their new sponsor for the 2011/12 season.

Ben Roberts, owner of Keystone Property and Mortgage Centre in Connah’s Quay, said: “Keystone is proud to be the new sponsor of the Tigers.

“We are always looking to engage with the local community and we wish the team all the best for the forthcoming season.”

Steve Dodd, manager of the Tigers U8s, thanked Keyastone for their support.

“The boys, the coaches and myself would like to thank Keystone for their kind gesture of sponsorship this season,” he said.

“It has allowed us to purchase a nice new strip for the team, together with much needed rain-jackets for the winter months.”

The Tigers U8s train every Thursday at 6.30pm on the pitches at Connah’s Quay High School and welcome boys and girls aged eight to train with them.

In the Queensferry Sports Flintshire Junior and Youth League – formerly known as the Clwyd Junior League – Connah’s Quay Tigers U12s suffered a 7-0 defeat at home to Mold Dragons.

Tom Blackwell (3), Harry Keeley, Jac Morgan, Sion Thomas and Connor Humphries scored for Mold.

Buckley Town Juniors found another gear in the second half of their contest against Shotton Steel, emerging 9-1 winners having led 2-1 at the break.

Jake Halliwell scored for Shotton in the first half but Henry Jones (3), Cameron Jones (3), Charlie Bradley, Matthew Perry and Luke Wooley found the net for Buckley.

Hawarden Rangers beat Deeside Phoenix 7-1.

Arron Davies (2), Joel Roberts (2), Ryan Coney, Daniel Eccleston and Daniel Fredriksen sealed the points for the hosts as Ethan Holmes replied for the visitors.

Mynydd Isa slipped to a 5-2 defeat at Holywell Town Juniors.

Alan Davies grabbed a brace for Isa but Jake Cooke did the same for Holywell, with Ben Sim, Ben Williams and Kyle Jones also firing home.

Mold Sparks claimed a 13-goal thriller against Broughton Super Saints 9-4.

Sean Mason (5), Lewis Pringle (2), Conor Hopwood and Matthew Fox won it for Mold despite goals from Ashley Stanton, Max Keepence, Matt Gittens and George McCready.